

Contact: Eileen E. Denne, Eileen@arrx.org; (501) 372-5250

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

ARKANSAS PHARMACISTS ASSOCIATION HONORS INDIVIDUALS WITH 2011 AWARDS

LITTLE ROCK, AR (June 11, 2011) – The Arkansas Pharmacists Association (APA) presented its 2011 awards to deserving individuals during its 129th Annual Convention held at the Peabody Hotel in Little Rock, from June 9-11.

"There are many Arkansas pharmacists who are extraordinarily generous with their time and contributions to others, not only in their communities, but on a state-wide, national and even an international basis," said APA Executive Vice President Mark Riley. "This week, we honor those who have made unique contributions to the pharmacy profession, to their towns, businesses and to others through mission work or public service."

APA 2011 Award recipients include:

- **2011 Pharmacist of the Year:** Dr. Don Johnson of Little Rock, former chief of pharmacy for Little Rock Veterans Affairs Medical Center, and former pharmacy director at North Metro Medical Center. The award was established to honor an APA member with high professional standards, a record of civic service and who has contributed to the pharmacy profession.
- **2011 Young Pharmacist of the Year**: Dr. Cheryl Bryant of Little Rock, District Pharmacy Supervisor for Walgreens in Little Rock. The award is presented to an outstanding young pharmacist with fewer than 10 years of experience who has demonstrated leadership among her peers.
- **2011 Bowl of Hygeia Award**: Dr. Tom Warmack of Sheridan, former owner of Watson Pharmacy in Fordyce. The award was established by the A.H. Robbins Company to honor pharmacists who have an outstanding record of community service.
- **2011 Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award:** Dr. Eric Crumbaugh of Little Rock, Patient Care Specialist for Kroger Pharmacy in Little Rock and Clinical Assistant Instructor for University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences College of Pharmacy. This award recognizes a pharmacist who has demonstrated a prominent spirit of innovation and entrepreneurship.

- **2011 Percy Malone Public Service Award:** Dr. Gene Boeckmann of Wynne, owner of Wynne Apothecary in Wynne. The award was established to honor pharmacist and Senator Percy Malone (D-Arkadelphia) for individuals who have made a contribution to public service by being elected to public office.
- **2011 Guy Newcomb Award:** Senator Johnny Key (R-Mountain Home). The award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves as political friends of Arkansas pharmacy.
- 2011 Charles M. West Leadership Award: Daniel Price of Bryant, Pharm.D. candidate, UAMS College of Pharmacy Class of 2012. This award honors a student who has demonstrated exemplary leadership abilities and contributed to the profession of pharmacy.

The Arkansas Pharmacists Association, founded in 1882, is the statewide professional association representing approximately 2,200 pharmacists in Arkansas. APA strives to further the professional advancement of pharmacists, advocate the value of pharmacy, and safeguard the health and well-being of every Arkansan. Its mission is to advance a professional and business environment for Arkansas pharmacists to be successful and fulfilled in serving patients.

###

417 South Victory Street, Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-2923 Phone: 501-372-5250, Fax: 501-372-0546 www.arrx.org